flfere.blogg.se

Wireshark filters not working
Wireshark filters not working












wireshark filters not working wireshark filters not working

To quote from the wireshark-filter man page:

wireshark filters not working

But I don't know, maybe they are.Īlso there are no Capture Filters or Display Filters running on either the VM Wireshark or the Host Wireshark, and the Host Wireshark is able to capture packets from other sources.Can you try: ip.addr = 10.222.22.77 and udp contains 0a:20:01:11:22:33ĮDIT: If you have dftest, you can run dftest "udp contains 0a20", and you'll get: Filter: "udp contains 0a20"

wireshark filters not working

I've included the vmnet1 and vmnet8 inet addresses because they seem to be associated with the VMware Workstation Player, but they don't really seem to be relevant to my problem. I've also tried switching the VM Network Connection from NAT to both Bridged and Host-only, but all that resulted in were Host Destination Unreachable replies when using ping on either the Host or VM. I've tried disabling my Host firewall with sudo ufw disable, but it was already disabled and changed nothing. Here's a pair of the requests and replies: No. Running ifconfig on VM gives: (omitting lo) eth1: inet 192.168.81.128įrom Host, if I run ping 192.168.81.128, the Wireshark running in the VM captures the packets. Running ifconfig on Host gives: (omitting enp3s0 and lo) vmnet1: inet 192.168.117.1 Host to VM pings do not show up in the Host Wireshark either while capturing from "any". I can, however, capture pings from Host to VM with the Wireshark running in the VM. I cannot get the Wireshark that is running on the Host OS (Ubuntu) to capture pings from the VM (Kali). I have Wireshark running on my laptop (Ubuntu 18.04), and I also have Wireshark running inside a VMware Workstation Player with a Backtrack 5 Kali Linux virtual machine image.














Wireshark filters not working